The art of doing nothing | CLD

The art of doing nothing | creative life diaries

Between all goals, lists, deadlines and expectations to do better, mixed with all the “outside” noise, it’s easy to feel overwhelmed and sometimes, we forget that, stepping away from everything once in a while, is more beneficial than we think.

Trying to do everything at the same time is counterproductive and sometimes we confuse effort with effectiveness. I’m one of those people that even when I should be having some “me time”, my mind is all over the place thinking on things I still have to do. This ends up not being healthy nor good and I would return to work feeling guilty for taking a break and feeling like haven’t done enough. I think nowadays most artists, especially the freelancing ones can relate to this, we can’t relax and enjoy the “nothingness” because “doing nothing” can be perceived like a waste of valuable time.

Since 9 a.m. that I’ve been working on some pitch emails and doing research on companies and manufacturers. Now it’s almost 7 p.m. and I feel I could have squeezed a little more work during the day, but before I gave in on those guilty feelings I found myself going to my bookmarks and looking for this article. I came across it last summer while browsing through Kinfolk, and somehow at the time the whole content made me feel happy and inspired so today, I decided to share it here on the blog hoping that, for those who can relate, that it will bring some peace of mind the next time you decide to take a break and do nothing.

As for me, I’m going to put on my sneakers and go pay a visit to the gym. I’ll leave you with an excerpt:

“Far from laziness, proper idleness is the soul’s home base. Before we plan or love or decide or act or storytell, we are idle. Before we learn, we watch. Before we do, we dream. Before we play, we imagine. The idle mind is awake but unconstrained, free to slip untethered from idea to idea or meander from potential theory to potential truth. Thomas Aquinas argued that “it is necessary for the perfection of human society that there should be men who devote their lives to contemplation”.
(…)
I’m convinced that time spent idle makes for a healthier state of mind. We want less and are more at peace when we get it. We sleep better and work harder. Simpler things bring us joy. When we daily observe our immediate surroundings, we are more grounded in our context, more attuned to the rhythms of whatever season or place we are in.”
Nikaela Marie Peters
, THE IDLER: How to do nothing.

Read full article here.

( photo – Death to the Stock Photo )


What are your thoughts on the subject? Can you relate to this article? Feel free to share your thoughts on the comments below.

3 comments

Post a comment...

