Looking back at 2014

best of 2014 | sofiacardoso.com

As I’m writing this post we’re only 8 hours and a few minutes away from the start of 2015. Can you believe how fast this year went by? The minute the Holidays kick in, the 24 hours in a day look like minutes and the last thing you know you’re picking up your 12 raisins and a flute of champagne before welcoming a new year (Why did it have to be raisins? Why not nuts? Or olives?).

Before I get into my goals and hopes for the new year I wanted to reflect and give thanks for all the moments 2014 has brought. It has been a crazy year, tiring but very satisfying. Around this time last year I grabbed my cork board, a stack of post-its and a black marker and I wrote down my main goals for the year and believe it or not I managed to achieve all of them except two. Some were all-or-nothing goals, others were very human resolutions but in the end there were surprises that weren’t planned that really helped making this year memorable. 2014 brought so many changes, opportunities, new friendships, new perspectives, challenges, growth, memories and dreams, of course there were ups and downs but in the end I’m truly grateful for every single experience because they all helped me grow to where I am today and hopefully 2014 “was only the beginning”.

Since the cork board system proved to be efficient I’m doing the same this year. I have a lot planned for 2015, my to do list has been growing for the past two months and although many are already half crossed I still got a lot of reviews and tweaks to do. From personal branding + website, fully business launch to more personal little goals like read at least 20 books this year (more 6 than 2014), I am thoroughly excited to see what 2015 brings!

Here’s to a new year! See you in 2015!

“Make New Year’s goals. Dig within, and discover what you would like to have happen in your life this year. This helps you do your part. It is an affirmation that you’re interested in fully living life in the year to come. Goals give us direction. They put a powerful force into play on a universal, conscious, and subconscious level. Goals give our life direction.
What would you like to have happen in your life this year?
What would you like to do, to accomplish?
What good would you like to attract into your life?
What particular areas of growth would you like to have happen to you?
Little things and big things?
Where would you like to go?
What would you like to have happen in friendship and love?
What would you like to have happen in your family life?
What problems would you like to see solved?
What decisions would you like to make? What would you like to happen in your career?
Write it down. Take a piece of paper, a few hours of your time, and write it all down – as an affirmation of you, your life, and your ability to choose. Then let it go. The new year stands before us, like a chapter in a book, waiting to be written. We can help write that story by setting goals.”
– Melody Beattie, The Language of Letting Go.

(photos from my Instagram)

Post a comment...

